top of page

Hindsight

Today marks four years since I quit my first job out of uni. My foray into the corporate world, a job people seemed to think was amazing, a job people often ask me if I regret quitting.

The answer is it’s been a long, inspiring, hard, amazing, and vital journey both professionally and personally. The only regret I have is how long I stayed in a job where I was so miserable. I will create no illusion that quitting your job is the best thing you will ever do. It’s not. Back up plans fall through, life is still never going to turn out how you plan.

The most important thing for me is to remember that if I think about all the thing I thought I wanted 5 years ago, I’d be miserable now if they had of come to fruition. I know the journey to this point has been hard, and at times I have perhaps felt equally miserable, and this is the beauty of hindsight. We can't live in a world wishing we had bought that lottery ticket when all our favourite numbers come out, or thinking 'what it'. It's not a healthy way to live.


I had always had certain things at the back of my mind that never went away, and I knew that they would be good for me, so I took a leap, I separated myself from so many things with a clear path in my mind, I had a sense of clarity and direction for arguably one of the first times in my life.

The true lesson is to never look back, but if anything does stay in your mind niggling away for an indefinite period of time, stop ignoring it. You don’t know where acknowledging it can lead.

For me it lead to a true path that finally seemed to be heading in the right direction.


Comentários


bottom of page