top of page

The Vegan Life

Updated: May 4, 2019

Yes. I am a stereotypical yogi vegan. Some people hate broccoli and the mere smell of it makes them nauseas. For me, the food that makes me nauseas is meat. It has been since I was a child. My mum knows not to walk my through the meat section on the supermarket.

Meeting the beautiful Thumbelina at Edgar's Mission in Lancefield, just outside of Melbourne.

I wouldn't have eaten red meat since I was about 10 years old, and I stopped eating white meat not so long after that. I've never been able to drink milk or eat cheese, it has always made me very very sick. As a child I suffered from a lot of migraines, which later in life I learned was probably from consuming dairy products. I've also never liked the taste of eggs. Becoming a vegan was so natural for me I didn't really even notice I was one. It was only as I got older that I became more conscious about my consumption.


I try very hard not to be preachy, because I can't be bothered listening to meat eaters comments about why I should eat meat, particularly not when I have done nothing to provoke it, so fair is fair. Despite many peoples opinions, generally speaking my iron and general nutrient levels seem to be better than most of my meat eating friends, because they simply do not eat properly. They eat junk food or take away too often, or they never cook meat at home which means they only eat it every so often, but don't properly supplement their diets in the meantime.

I've heard all the science about what your body needs, and questioned if I am getting everything I need. But my iron levels are always good, and If I am feeling tired, my skin or hair is looking lifeless, or I'm genuinely not feeling 100% I can usually pinpoint why. It might be my diet, or my lack of sleep, maybe I have been partying too much, it's far too black and white an opinion to say it is because I don't eat steak for dinner.

Ultimately lifestyle is a matter of choice. I don't feel like I am missing out on anything, because dairy products have always made me sick, and meat has always been gross to me. It's the smell, the sight, the texture. I truly just do not like it.

So when I discuss anything in this blog to do with veganism, I won't be forcing opinions on anyone who reads it. I do help to be able to provide information about nutrition (I'm not by any means an expert, I have just learned a lot and continue to do so), elements of the yogic diet (Sattvic). Hinduism, and some tasty recipes anyone can enjoy.


Commentaires


bottom of page